Homemade Hand Cream

I first made this recipe as a Christmas gift for my mother. She works hard and constantly has dry hands so desperately needed some new hand cream. I decided it would be cool to make some for her and it is actually so easy and quick to make!

This recipe is super easy and simple. It doesn’t require any whipping which I find much easier to clean up afterwards. It works brilliantly and soaks into the skin well, the cornstarch making it less greasy.

Homemade Hand Cream Recipe

Hand cream stored in a recycled jar

Ingredients:

  • 6 Tbsp shea butter
  • 6 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 Tbsp cornstarch (arrowroot powder or tapioca flour also work)
  • 10 drops lavender essential oil (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Melt shea butter using a double boiler.
  2. Remove from heat, melt in coconut oil and mix together.
  3. Mix in cornstarch until smooth.
  4. Once cooled, add drops of essential oil and store in a glass jar.
Shea butter
Melt over double boiler
Add coconut oil
Cornstarch
Mix together
All combined with essential oil

You can easily change the consistency by adjusting the measurements of shea butter, coconut oil or cornstarch. I quite like it when the cream is firm but soft enough so that you can easily scoop some with you finger and it melts while it is applied to the skin. If you want a firmer consistency, I would also suggest adding some grated beeswax in the first stage.

Let me know how your own hand cream works and I’m also keen to hear about other recipes or adjustments you make!

Leave a comment